Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 7/16/2018

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us

8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mon.-Fri.


Related Information

County conservation fee > Tax Information

  • Do I need to pay the Conservation Fee?Back to top

    Yes, if you record a taxable mortgage or deed in 1 of the 10 Minnesota counties that participate in the program. The fee is paid to the county.​

  • Who pays the County Conservation Fee?Back to top

    The mortgagor or seller (grantor) pays this fee.​

  • Which counties participate in the County Conservation Fee program?Back to top

    The following counties participate in the program:

    • Anoka
    • Carver
    • Dakota
    • Hennepin
    • Ramsey
    • Scott
    • Waseca
    • Washington
    • Winona
    • Wright​

  • What is the purpose of the County Conservation Fee?Back to top

    To reimburse taxing jurisdictions for revenue lost under the Conservation Tax Credit (Minnesota Statutes, section 273.119) or on the valuation of agricultural preserves (M.S. 473H.10).