Adoption of Permanent Rule Governing Licensure, Education, Trainee Registration, Record Retention, and Reinstatement; Amending Minn. Rules, Chapter 1950

Changes were made to the rules pertaining to the State Board of Assessors and officially adopted on April 8, 2019. These changes take effect for the licensing cycle beginning on July 1, 2016.

The detailed rules can be found in Chapter 1950 of Minnesota Rules. A brief description of the changes is outlined below:

Trainee Registration: The rule change establishes a trainee registration for individuals who have started working for the assessor in the described work, but are not yet licensed. Trainees are required to register with the Board within 30 days of hire.

License Reinstatement: A person who has not been licensed for five years may be reinstated by demonstrating completion of certain coursework and by paying the reinstatement fee. Additionally, the changes clarify that the reinstatement fee applies to anyone who has not renewed their license by July 1.

Assessment Laws and Procedure (ALP) Course: The change specifies that the required ALP course must have been taken within the previous five years for an initial license, or for reinstating a license after five or more years of not holding a license.

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Course: The change specifies that the required 15-hour USPAP course must have been taken within five years of:

- a) first receiving an Accredited Minnesota Assessor (AMA) license
- b) first receiving a Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor (SAMA) license
- c) reinstating an AMA or SAMA license.

If the course was taken more than five years ago, the AMA/SAMA applicant must take the current year USPAP 7-hour update class.

Temporary License – Military: Creates a temporary license for a former member of the military, current member of the military, or the spouse of a current member of the military as required in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.4552.

Temporary License – Certified General Fee Appraiser: Creates a temporary license for Minnesota appraisers who are licensed at the highest level (Certified General Appraiser) by the Department of Commerce to appraise all property types.

AMA/SAMA Narrative Appraisals and CMAS Form Appraisal: The change specifies that narratives submitted as a requirement for AMA or SAMA license and form appraisals submitted as a requirement for CMAS must be submitted within five years of the date of the appraisal.

International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) Assessment Administrative Specialist (AAS) Equivalency: Provides that the IAAO Assessment Administrative Specialist designation fulfills the narrative requirement for the AMA license instead of the narrative requirement for the SAMA license.

SAMA and AMA License Requirements: Moves the Board interview requirement to the SAMA level instead of the AMA level.

CEH Increases: Increases the Continuing Education Hours (CEH) for Certified Minnesota Assessors (CMA) and Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialists (CMAS) to 50 hours per 4-year cycle and for Accredited Minnesota Assessors (AMA) and Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessors (SAMA) to 60 hours per 4-year cycle beginning July 1, 2016.

Continuing Education Hours (CEH) for Instructors: Allows instructors to claim CEHs only once per four year cycle for the same course taught.

Record Retention: Removes record retention language from the rules since it is provided for in the Board's retention schedule. With the new online licensing system, the Board plans to retain assessor records at least for the life of the assessor. The Board no longer uses the record retention fee since the online licensing system was launched.