Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 6/16/2017

Minnesota State Board of Assessors

Becoming a Minnesota Licensed Assessor

What do assessors do? Assessors classify property by type(i.e. commercial, agricultural, residential, etc.) and estimate the value of the property for tax purposes. 
Assessors work for counties, cities or townships.  Most assessors who work for counties or cities work full time.  Many township or contract assessors work part time. For information on employment opportunities check the Minnesota Association of Assessing Officers (MAAO) website at
Every person employed by an assessor to assist in making exemption, classification, or valuation decisions must become licensed at the level required for that position within three years from the date of employment. A person employed to assist an assessor in making exemption, classification, or valuation decisions who does not obtain the required license within the time allowed must be dismissed.
In order to become a licensed Minnesota assessor you must obtain the education and experience required by the State Board of Assessors, submit an application to the board, and pay an annual license fee. Education courses that have been approved by the State Board of Assessors are offered by variety of sponsoring organizations including, Appraisal InstituteIAAO, Kaplan and McKissock and MAAO.  The "Licensing" tab has a list of course requirements for each level of licensure. 
Assessors' licenses are issued on a fiscal year basis beginning July 1 of each year and expiring June 30 of the succeeding year.

Assessor Accreditation

The Assessor Accreditation law was changed during the 2017 legislative session. This change affects assessors who are  now licensed as a Certified Minnesota Assessor or Assessor Specialist (CMA or CMAS). For details, see Assessor Accreditation Deadline