
the K–12 education subtraction, and you may qualify regardless 
of your filing status. However, the school your child attended 
must be located in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Da-
kota, or Wisconsin.

What is the credit and who qualifies?
The education credit is a refundable credit that reduces your state 
income tax liability. If you meet the eligibility requirements pro-
vided below, you may claim a credit on your Minnesota income 
tax return equal to 75 percent of the qualifying expenses that you 
paid during the year for your child’s K–12 education, up to the 
maximum amounts. 

To qualify for the education credit, you must file as single, head 
of household, qualifying widow(er), or married filing a joint 
return. Married persons filing separate returns do not qualify for 
the credit. 

In addition, your household income—your federal adjusted gross 
income plus most nontaxable income—must be below a certain 
limit for the year. 

Income requirements. To qualify for the credit, your household 
income must be under a certain limit based on the number of 
qualifying children you have in grades K–12 (see Qualifying 
child below).

If your total number of	 Your household 
qualifying children is:	 income limit is:
	 1 or 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     $37,500
	 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $39,500
	 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $41,500
	 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $43,500
	 6 or more  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    *
*	For more than 5 children, the limit is $43,500 plus $2,000 

for each additional qualifying child.

Qualifying Child
A qualifying child must meet the definition of a qualifying child 
for the federal earned income credit, must have been in grades 
K–12 during the year, and must have attended public or private 
school. 

Qualifying Expenses
In general, expenses that qualify for either the subtraction or the 
credit include:
•	 Instructor fees and tuition for classes or instruction taken out-

side the normal school day or school year and the instructor is 
not the child’s sibling, parent, or grandparent Continued
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Minnesota has two programs—the K–12 education subtraction 
and the K–12 Education Credit—to help families pay expenses 
related to their child’s kindergarten through 12th grade (K–12) 
education. Both programs lower the tax you must pay and may 
even provide a larger refund when you file your Minnesota in-
come tax return.

The amount of your subtraction or credit is based on the actual 
qualifying expenses you paid during the year for your child’s 
K–12 education—for which you have documentation—up to the 
maximums allowed by law. 

This fact sheet covers who qualifies for the subtraction or credit 
or both, what educational expenses qualify for each, and which 
forms need to be filed.

Required Documentation
To claim either the K–12 education subtraction or credit, you 
must have documentation—such as itemized cash register re-
ceipts and invoices—to prove any specific qualifying expense. 
Canceled checks alone may not be sufficient proof as to what 
you actually purchased. Be sure to save your receipts and other 
documentation. You may be asked to make these available to the 
department for review.

Keep in mind that the subtraction and credit may be claimed only 
to the extent of your actual expenses, and you cannot use the 
same expenses to claim both the subtraction and the credit.

We may require additional information, including the name of the 
organization or the qualified instructor to whom you paid fees for 
classroom or individual instruction. 

Eligibility Requirements
To claim either the subtraction or credit, you must have paid 
qualifying expenses during the year to help your qualifying 
child’s K-12 education. (For the definition of qualifying child, see 
this page and see page 2 for the definition of qualifying expens-
es.) Part-year residents and nonresidents may qualify for both the 
subtraction and credit.

What is the subtraction and who qualifies?
If you purchased educational material or services for your child’s 
K–12 education, you may be able to subtract your qualifying 
expenses, up to the maximum amounts, from your taxable income 
when you file your Minnesota income tax return. 

Unlike the education credit, there is no income limit to qualify for 

Income Tax and Withholding Division
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•	 Purchases of required educational materials for use during 
the normal school day 

•	 Fees paid to others for transporting your child to and from 
school for the normal school day

•	 Educational software and computer hardware for personal use 
in your home

These expenses do not qualify for either:
•	 Purchases of materials for use outside the normal school day
•	 Fees paid to others for transporting your child to and from 

activities outside the normal school day

For expenses to qualify as a subtraction, your child must have at-
tended a school located in the five-state area—Minnesota, Iowa, 
North Dakota, South Dakota ,or Wisconsin.

Qualifying expenses that apply only for the subtraction include 
private school tuition and tuition paid for college or summer 
school courses that are used to satisfy high school graduation 
requirements.

If you home school your child, see Fact Sheet 8a, Qualifying 
Home School Expenses for K-12 Education Subtraction and 
Credit, for more information about qualifying expenses.

Fees paid for instruction or tuition
Expenses that qualify for either the subtraction or the credit 
include fees and expenses paid for instruction or tuition taken 
outside the regular school day or school year for which your 
child is not required to attend, such as: 
•	 The instructional portion of fees and tuition paid for your 

child’s after-school instruction, if the after-school program or 
camp is both:

	 —	 through an enrichment (or fine and performing arts) pro-
gram, academic summer camp, or other educational study

	 —	 taught or provided instruction is provided by a qualified 
instructor (see Qualified instructor on this page)

•	 Fees paid for individual instruction by a qualified instructor, 
such as tutoring and music lessons

•	 Instructor fees for a drivers education course if the school of-
fers a class as part of the curriculum, regardless of where your 
child takes the class

Expenses that qualify for only the subtraction include fees and 
expenses paid for instruction or tuition taken during the regular 
school day or school year or for mandatory classes that are held 
outside the regular school day or school year, such as:

•	 Private school tuition
•	 Tuition paid for college courses that are used to satisfy high 

school graduation requirements
•	 Instructor fees for drivers education course if the school of-

fers a class as part of the curriculum
•	 Fees paid for individual instruction by a qualified instructor
•	 Instructor fees and tuition paid for attending mandatory sum-

mer school

The following expenses do not qualify for the credit or subtraction:
•	 room and board
•	 instructor fees paid for the teaching of religious beliefs
•	 fees or tuition paid for programs that are not academic in 

nature, such as sport camps and martial arts programs

Qualified instructor
To be a qualified instructor, the person must meet one of the fol-
lowing requirements:
•	 be a Minnesota licensed teacher,
•	 be directly supervised by a Minnesota licensed teacher,
•	 have passed a teacher competency test,
•	 teach in an accredited private school, 
•	 have at least a baccalaureate degree (the subject you teach 

need not have any relation to your academic training), or
•	 be a member of the Minnesota Music Teachers Association.

A qualified instructor cannot be the child’s sibling, parent or 
grandparent.

		  Qualifies for:
Educational expenses	 credit	 subtraction	 neither

Private school tuition		  X

Tuition for college courses that 
are used to satisfy high school		  X 
graduation requirements

Tutoring (by qualified instructor)*	 X	 X

Fees for after-school enrichment 	  
programs such as science explor-	 X	 X 
ation and study habits courses*

Tuition for summer camps that are 
primarily academic in focus, such	 X	 X 
as language or fine arts camps*

Fees for all-day Kindergarten	 X	 X

Music lessons*	 X	 X

Instructor fees for a drivers educa- 
tion course* if the school offers a 	 X	 X 
class as part of the curriculum

Sport camps or lessons	 		  X

Nonreligious academic books 
and materials purchased for use	 X	 X 
during the regular public, private, 
or home school day

Purchase of books and materials  
used for tutoring, enrichment 			   X 
programs, or academic camps

Purchase or rental of musical  
instruments used for regular	 X	 X 
school music class

Fees paid to others for transpor- 
tation to/from school or for field	 X	 X 
trips during the normal school day

Costs to transport your child to 
and from tutoring, enrichment 			   X 
programs, or camps that are  
not part of the school day

Travel expenses, lodging, and 			   X 
meals for overnight class trips

Home computer hardware and	 X	 X 
educational software

Noneducational computer software			   X

Examples of expenses that may qualify  
for the education credit and/or subtraction

* Study must be directed by a qualified instructor. See 
“Qualified instructor” above.
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Required school materials
Generally, most expenses paid for required materials used for 
educational instruction during the regular school day or school 
year qualify. The material must be used in teaching subjects nor-
mally taught in public schools in grades K–12.

Qualifying expenses include:
•	 Purchases of nonreligious textbooks
•	 Purchases of required educational material, such as paper, 

pens, pencils, notebooks, and rulers
•	 The purchase or rental fees of educational equipment, such as 

musical instruments and calculators
•	 Expenses paid for field trips, including entrance fees to exhibits

Be sure to keep your itemized cash register receipts and invoices 
as documentation. 

Do not include:
•	 Cell phones
•	 Tissues
•	 School lunch, snacks, or treats
•	 School uniforms (including choir or band uniforms, dance 

costumes, and graduation robes)
•	 Clothing for school (an exception is gym clothes that are 

required for class)
•	 Travel expenses, lodging, transportation (e.g. airline tickets), 

and meals for overnight class trips (only instructor fees paid 
for direct academic instruction is allowed)

For a more complete list of qualifying expenses and expenses that 
are not allowed, go to our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us 
and type Education Expenses in the search box.

Transportation costs paid to others 
The only qualifying transportation expense is the amount you paid 
to others to transport your child to and from school or for field 
trips during the normal school day. However, to claim this ex-
pense as a subtraction or a credit, your child must have attended a 
school located in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, 
or Wisconsin. 

Examples of transportation costs that do not qualify include ex-
penses and costs for:
•	 You or other members of your household to drive your child to 

school
•	 Transporting your child to or from day care
•	 Transporting your child to or from any program or camp that is 

not part of the normal school day
•	 Overnight class trips

Computer hardware and educational software
Personal computer hardware and educational software purchased 
during the year for use in your home qualifies, as long as it is not 
used in a trade or business. Examples of qualifying hardware can 
include a personal computer, printer, monitor, CD-ROM drive, 
modem, additional hard drives, memory upgrades, or adaptive 
equipment for students with disabilities. Software must have a 
clear educational purpose—computer games without educational 
value do not qualify. 

Note: monthly charges to a service provider for Internet access do 
not qualify.

For limits to the computer expenses you may claim, see Limits to 
computer expenses on page 4.

Claim the Expense in the Year of Payment
The year in which the payment was made determines when an 
expense qualifies. If the educational service or material was re-
ceived in a year different than the year of payment, you may only 
claim the qualifying expense for the year in which the payment 
was made. This is true for both the education subtraction and 
credit.

Determining year of payment for financed expenses
If you receive a loan from your local bank or you use a third-
party credit card to pay your qualifying expenses, your expenses 
are considered fully paid when you make the initial purchase. 

However, the opposite is true if you purchased a qualifying ex-
pense on credit directly from a retailer (such as a non-third-party 
credit card). In this case, your purchase is not fully paid when 
you make the initial purchase. Rather, each payment you make 
to the retailer is considered a separate expense. 

Example 1. Tammy bought a computer several years ago on 
credit using her VISA credit card, and she’s still making pay-
ments on this purchase. In this case, because her initial purchase 
was made several years ago, it does not qualify for a credit or 
subtraction on this year’s income tax return.

Example 2. Charles received a loan from his local bank to pay 
educational expenses for his children. The expenses are consid-
ered to have been paid in the year they were made, regardless of 
when Charles paid back the loan. 

Example 3. Last October, Don purchased a computer on credit 
directly from the computer store, and has made two payments 
during the year. Don may only include the amounts of the two 
payments, up to the maximums allowed, as qualifying expenses.

Example 4. Rita’s daughter took tutored classes in the fall, but 
she didn’t pay for the classes until January of the next year. For 
both the subtraction and credit, Rita’s qualifying expenses must 
be claimed in the year in which the fee is paid, not when the 
class is taken.

Limits
Subtraction limits
You may subtract your actual qualifying educational expenses, 
up to a maximum of $1,625 per qualifying child in grades K–6, 
and $2,500 for a qualifying child in grades 7–12. In the case 
where a child went from 6th grade to 7th grade during the calen-
dar year, the maximum for that child is $2,500.

There is no family maximum subtraction, only a per-child maxi-
mum.

Credit limits
Your credit is limited to 75 percent of the qualifying expenses 
that you paid during the year for your qualifying child’s K–12 
education, up to the maximum amounts. The remaining 25 per-
cent of qualifying expenses cannot be used to claim the subtrac-
tion. 

The maximum credit you may claim is based on your house-
hold income and the number of qualifying children you have in 
grades K–12.

Continued
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If your household income is from $33,501 to $37,499, the maxi-
mum credit is reduced. Your maximum credit limit is determined 
when you complete Schedule M1ED (See page 1).

Limits to Computer Expenses
If you qualify and claim your computer-related expenses for 
both the subtraction and credit, you cannot claim more than you 
actual computer expenses or $400 total, whichever is less. You 
may split qualifying computer expenses between the credit and 
subtraction up to your actual computer expenses, but the most 
you can claim for each is:
•	 $200 of the expenses for the subtraction
•	 $200 of the expenses for the credit (if you are within the 

income requirements)

How to claim the subtraction and/or credit
Education subtraction
To claim the education subtraction, determine the amount of 
your qualifying expenses and fill in the amount on the appropri-
ate line of your Minnesota income tax return. 

Keep in mind that your subtraction must be based on your actual 
expenses during the year for which you have proof to substantiate 
your claim, such as cash register receipts and invoices. You are 
not required to submit the documentation with your return, but 
you are required to show it if requested by the department.

Note: If you qualify for the subtraction and your household 
income is less than the income limit for the K–12 education 
credit (see What is the credit and who qualifies? on page 1), it is 
to your advantage to first determine your credit. Once your credit 
limits are reached, you may take the remaining balance of your 
qualifying expenses, if any, as a subtraction.

Education credit
To determine your education credit, complete Schedule M1ED. 
Enter your credit amount on the appropriate line of your Minne-
sota income tax return. You must include your completed Sched-
ule M1ED and Schedule M1REF, Refundable Credits, when you 
file your Minnesota income tax return. 

If your credit is limited by the maximum amounts, you can then 
use the remaining qualifying expenses to claim the subtraction, 
up to the limits you can subtract. However, you cannot claim 
both the subtraction and credit using the same expenses. Also, 
even though your credit is limited to 75 percent of your qualify-
ing expenses, you cannot claim the remaining 25 percent as a 
subtraction.

Penalty for Fraudulently Claiming a Refund
If you file a return that fraudulently claims a credit or refund, 
including the K–12 Education Credit, you will be assessed a 
penalty. The penalty is 50 percent of the fraudulently claimed 
refund.

Questions You May Have
I home school my child. Am I eligible to claim the subtraction 
and credit? Yes, as long as your qualifying child is in kindergar-
ten through 12th grade, it does not matter if he or she is attend-
ing a public, private, parochial, or home school—you may claim 
your qualifying expenses. As a home school, you must annu-
ally report information regarding your program with your local 
public school district, and your program must meet the report-
ing requirements of Minnesota’s compulsory attendance laws. 
For more information about qualifying home school expenses, 
see Fact Sheet 8a, Qualifying Home School Expenses for K-12 
Education Subtraction and Credit.

My child’s Social Studies class is taking a trip to Washington, 
D.C. to study our national government. What expenses quali-
fy? The amount paid for instruction qualifies if it is provided by 
a qualified instructor. Travel expenses, lodging, and meals do not 
qualify.

Can I claim expenses for my son who graduated from high 
school and entered college during the year? Yes, but only 
the qualifying education expenses paid for and during his high 
school education.

Can I claim the full fee for sending my child to an academic 
camp? No, only the fee paid for instruction at the camp qualifies. 
For the instruction fee to qualify, your bill must separately list 
the qualifying expense (instruction fee) from the non-qualifying 
expenses, such as food, lodging, and transportation.

My daughter is taking dance classes from a qualified instruc-
tor. Do the fees qualify? Yes, fees paid for performing arts 
instruction qualify; however, the cost of costumes, shoes, props, 
and travel are not qualifying expenses.

Information and Assistance
Additional forms and information, including fact sheets and 
frequently asked questions, are available on our website.

Website: www.revenue.state.mn.us

Email: individual.incometax@state.mn.us 

Phone: 651-296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094 

This document is available in alternate formats.


