Navigate Up
Sign In
Last Updated: 4/15/2014

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us

Collection

651-556-3003
800-657-3909
7:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. Mon.- Fri.

more

Related Information

Collections > Topic > Payment Options

  • I have been sending in voluntary payments, why did you levy me?Back to top

    You received a demand to pay letter which explained that you needed to make formal payment arrangements to prevent the department from taking collection action. Failure to set up a formal payment agreement resulted in the levy.​

  • How can I be removed from Liquor Posting?Back to top

    To be removed from the Liquor Posting List, the Minnesota Department of Revenue requires payment in full using secured funds. Once the payment has been received, the department has two days to remove the business from the list.

  • Can I wait and let my refund pay my debt?Back to top

    Your refund will be applied to your debt, but until that occurs penalties and interest will accrue. In addition, you risk enforced collection action for not making payment arrangements with the department.​

  • How soon after I make a payment can I register for classes, obtain a transcript, or renew a license?Back to top

    In order to register for classes or obtain transcripts, the debt(s) that remain unpaid will need to be paid in full, including the assessed collection costs. Schools require that payments are made using secured funds.

    In order to have a suspended license reinstated, the citation(s) that caused the suspension need to be paid in full, including the assessed collection costs. The department prefers payments made with secured funds.

    Depending on the type of payment made to the department, it can post to our system in 2-10 days. Once the payment posts, it can be an additional 3-5 days before the referring agency receives the payment. Overall, the normal turn-around is 5-10 days, with the possibility of taking up to 2 weeks.
     
    The department only acts as a collection agency, and therefore, all questions regarding registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or renewing a suspended license should be directed to the referring agency.

  • How can I pay for a ticket that was referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue?Back to top

    You may follow the options available listed under Payment Options or call 651-556-3003, 800-657-3909 or TTY at 711 for assistance. Debts referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue will be associated with your social security number and/or the Letter ID listed on the bill sent to you by the department. Please note, the department cannot look up your debt using the citation number. ​

  • What if I am unable to make payments at this time?Back to top

    The Minnesota Department of Revenue expects full payment of monies owed. In the event that you are unable to pay in full, contact the d​epartment at 651-556-3003, 800-657-3909, or TTY at 711 to discuss different payment options. If payment arrangements are not made, the department can use enforced collection action to collect unpaid debt.​

  • How do I know if the Minnesota Department of Revenue received my payment?Back to top

    To verify that a payment was received, contact the department directly at 651-556-3003, 800-657-3909 or TTY at 711.

  • What if I want to pay extra or pay off my debt early?Back to top

    Call 651-556-3003 or 800-657-3909 three business days in advance and we can arrange for an alternate payment amount. Paying your debt off early reduces the amount of penalty and interest you pay.​